Reach for the Sky

One of the things I like best about London is how you so often turn around a corner and stumble upon something strange or unexpected.

30th March 2016 was one such case.  It was a beautiful evening when I left the office, so I decided to walk home.  When I reached Horseguards Parade I discovered that there was a display of vintage military planes from the Royal Air Force Museum, which I had heard nothing about – despite working less than 500 meters away!

The purpose of the display was to raise awareness of the RAF Museum’s ‘Names on a Plane’ campaign to raise funds for the RAF Centenary Programme, as 2018 marks the centenary of the Royal Air Force.

Typhoon 2
Typhoon

Undercover, to protect it from the elements, was this beautiful World War I Sopwith Snipe bi-plane, which was built as a successor to the famous Sopwith Camel.

Sopwith Snipe close
Sopwith Snipe

The star of the show was undoubtably the World War II Spitfire and I joined the throngs to admire it against the stunning backdrop of Horseguards Parade.

Spitfire
Spitfire

 

For more information about the RAF Museum, please see: http://www.rafmuseum.org.uk

 

Leave a comment